Excel 2003 & 2007 - Quickest Ways to Copy Worksheets.

Copying worksheets is one of my favorite Excel time savers. If you have an Excel file (workbook)  that has similar worksheets, such as a budget workbook with a sheet for every month, copying worksheets will save you time. 


This tip works with Excel 2003 and 2007.

Some of you may know the traditional way to copy a worksheet (Excel 2003 instructions):


  • Click the Edit menu.

  • Choose Move or Copy Sheet.

  • Make certain the Create a Copy box is checked.

  • Select where you want to place the sheet (in a new workbook file, or in the current workbook).

  • Click OK.

 

Did you know that there's an even quicker way to do this? This works in Excel 2003 and 2007.

 

To copy a worksheet in the same workbook.


  • Hold down the Ctrl key.

  • Left-click and drag the worksheet.

 

To copy a worksheet to another workbook. Excel 2003 and 2007.


  • Make sure both workbooks are open.

  • Click the Window menu, then Arrange. In Excel 2007, Click the View Tab, and then Arrange All.

  • Choose Vertical, and then OK.

  • At this point, both workbooks should be open side-by-side.

  • Left-click and drag the worksheet from one workbook to another.

For additional information:

Intro to Excel 2007 - Atlanta Training class.

Excel 2003 Basics - Atlanta Training Class.


Excel 2003 Intermediate - Atlanta Training Class.

Excel 2003 - Control Enter Key Action

Question:
When I hit enter after typing an item, Excel automatically takes me to the cell below the current cell. Is there anyway to change this so that it
moves to the cell on the right?



Answer:
Changing this feature can be valuable, particularly when you have to do a lot of data entry.
 

Here's how you make the change.


Click on the Tools menu, and select Options.


Click the Edit tab.


Make sure Move selection after Enter is
checked.

Next to Direction,
choose Right.


Click OK.


This works with Excel 2003 only. For the Excel 2007 instructions, click here.



Outlook 2007 - How to Export 1 Folder





To export just one folder in Outlook 2007.
  • Click the File menu.


  • Click Import/Export.


  • Choose Export to a file.


  • Click Next.


  • Choose Personal Folder File and click Next.


  • Select the folder you wish to export from the list, click the include subfolders box if you want to include subfolders.


  • Create the name you'd like to use for your exported file. Decide if you want duplicated items created.


  • Click Finish - and you're done.

For additional information on Outlook 2007, please see our webinars: Clearing Inbox Clutter and Mastering Outlook Tasks.